IELTS - Ridaanoverseas

IELTS for institutions

IELTS for institutions


The IELTS is International English Language Testing Systems, jointly owned by the University of Cambridge, ESOL examination and British council. IELTS evaluates the English language ability of the people who are looking to study or work in countries where English is the main language of instruction. IELTS serves as a gateway to a myriad of academic, research and career opportunity in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Ireland, the UK and many other places around the world where English is the primary language used in classrooms and workplaces.

Types of IELTS

  1. IELTS Academic – Is conducted for students who wish to pursue higher education abroad
  2. IELTS General Training – Is conducted for individuals who wish to migrate for work

Format of the test: The IELTS test is designed in terms of four sub-tests that evaluate the Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking skills of the students. Students must sit all four sub-tests. IELTS is conducted on 48 fixed dates a year in different centres.

Duration: 2 hrs and 45 minutes.

Expected score: The scores of the test are graded on bandwidth from 0 to 9 and this IELTS score is valid for 2 years. Generally, universities expect candidates to score around 6.5, or 6.